Skip to main content

Our Team

Director

James F. Wood
Interim Director, Energy Institute
Director, US-China Clean Energy Research Center, Advanced Coal Technology Consortium
304.293.4236
James.Wood@mail.wvu.edu

Global Outreach and Collaborative Energy Programs

Richard Bajura
NRCCE Director Emeritus
304.293.6034
Richard Bajura@mail.wvu.edu

Marje Riivald
Administrative Assistant to Richard Bajura
304.293.6631
Marje.Riivald@mail.wvu.edu 

Program Development and Research Services

Trina Wafle
Assistant Director
304.293.6038
Trina.Wafle@mail.wvu.edu

Rose Vergara
Administrative Assistant to Trina Wafle
304.293.6905
RVergara@mail.wvu.edu 

Cristina Dumitrescu 
Research Coordinator 
304.293.6906
Cristina.Dumitrescu@mail.wvu.edu

Energy Institute Analytical Laboratory

Gabriela Perhinschi 
Lab Director
304.293.6314
Gabriela.Perhinschi@mail.wvu.edu 

Robert Todd Vincent 
Research Assistant 
304.293.6142
Robert.Vincent@mail.wvu.edu 

Energy Institute Communications

Tracy Novak
Communications Director
304.293.6928
Tracy.Novak@mail.wvu.edu

Energy Institute ITS

Vernon Deal
Professional Technologist 2
304.293.6124
Vernon.Deal@mail.wvu.edu

Adam Williams
Professional Technologist 2
304.293.6047
Adam.Williams@mail.wvu.edu

National Alternative Fuels Training Consortium

Virginia (Jenny) McMillen 
Communication Specialist 
304.293.7882
Virginia.Mcmillen@mail.wvu.edu 

Julian Orrego 
Multimedia Developer 
304.293.7882
Julian.Orrego@mail.wvu.edu 

Mark Kemp
Editor, Communications and Curriculum Development  
304.293.7882
Mark.Kemp@mail.wvu.edu 


Strategic Partnerships and Technology

Samuel Taylor
Assistant Director
304.293.6032
Samuel.Taylor@mail.wvu.edu

Danielle Blosser
Budget Analyst
304.293.5379
Danielle.Blosser@mail.wvu.edu

Annie Zeng
Operations Coordinator
304.293.5614
Annie.Zeng@mail.wvu.edu

Project Management

Cody Stewart
Senior Project Manager
304.293.8281
Cody.Stewart@mail.wvu.edu

Moriah Taft
Project Manager
304-293-6577
MSTaft@mail.wvu.edu

National Environmental Service Center

Jennifer Hause  
Program Coordinator
304.293.4191
Jennifer.Hause@mail.wvu.edu 

Resource Extraction

Doug Patchen
Director
304.293.6216
Doug.Patchen@mail.wvu.edu 


West Virginia Water Research Institute

Paul Ziemkiewicz
Director
304.293.6958
Paul.Ziemkiewicz@mail.wvu.edu

Tamara Vandivort
Associate Director
304.293.6968
Tamara.Vandivort@mail.wvu.edu

Melissa O'Neal  
Assistant Director
304.293.7006
Melissa.O'Neal@mail.wvu.edu 


Northern West Virginia Brownfields Center

Patrick Kirby  
Director  
304.293.6984
Patrick.Kirby@mail.wvu.edu 

Carrie Staton  
Associate Director 
304.293.7071
Carrie.Staton@mail.wvu.edu

Nicole Dias
Project Associate, Bad Buildings Program
304.293.6990
NDias@mail.wvu.edu  

Ray Moeller 
Brownfields Redevelopment Specialist 
304.293.0390
Raymond.Moeller@mail.wvu.edu  

Rare Earth Extraction Facility

Drew Bucy  
ORPM Program Manager
304.293.7003
dbucy1@mail.wvu.edu

Thomas “Wes” Edge  
Materials Scientist 
304.293.3886
TWEdge@mail.wvu.edu


Water Monitoring Programs

Melissa O'Neal  
Manager
304.293.7006
Melissa.O'Neal@mail.wvu.edu 

Sarah Cayton  
Project Manager  
304.293.7066
Scayton@mail.wvu.edu              

Terry Polce 
Program Assistant  
304.293.7041
Terry.Polce@mail.wvu.edu