Skip to main content

Dr. Brian J. Anderson

Director, Energy Institute

Dr. Brian J. Anderson is the director of the WVU Energy Institute at West Virginia University. The WVU Energy Institute serves to facilitate collaborative and innovative solutions to the energy future of West Virginia and the United States.

As the central coordinating institution for energy research at the flagship, land-grant university in West Virginia, it is central to the Energy Institute's mission to work with stakeholders within the university and across the state and region to help further the land-grant mission. A key aspect of that land-grant mission is to assist in stimulating economic development in West Virginia.  

Dr. Anderson is the Verl O. Purdy Chair of Engineering at West Virginia University.

He was awarded the 2012 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers and a 2014 Kavli National Academy of Science Frontiers of Science Fellow. 

He has been a NETL-RUA Faculty Fellow at the National Energy Technology Laboratory where he served as the coordinator of the International Methane Hydrate Reservoir Simulator Code Comparison study. In 2011, he was awarded a Secretary Honor Achievement Award from the Secretary of the Department of Energy for his role on the Flow Rate Technical Group, a team spanning multiple National Laboratories that worked in response to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. 

He is a member of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) Unconventional Hydrocarbon Roundtable and co-chaired the 2016 NASEM Workshop: Onshore Unconventional Hydrocarbon Development: Legacy Issues, Induced Seismicity, and Innovations in Managing Risk. 

Since 2015, he has served as chair of the Tri-State Governors’ (WV, PA, OH) Shale Coalition Workgroup on Research, Innovation, and Commercialization. In 2010, Dr. Anderson was selected to the National Academy of Science's 2010 Frontiers of Engineering Education Workshop, named the College of Engineering and Mineral Resources Teacher of the Year, and was the opening keynote speaker at the inaugural 2010 Gordon Research Conference on Gas Hydrates. 

He was awarded the College of Engineering and Mineral Resources New Researcher of the Year in 2007. Dr. Anderson received his bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering in 2000 at WVU and his master's and doctorate in chemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2004 and 2005 respectively. 

After joining the faculty at WVU in January of 2006, he coauthored the MIT report, “The Future of Geothermal Energy: Impact of Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS) on the United States in the 21st Century,” considered the seminal report on EGS and the future of geothermal energy. He serves on the technical advisory board of AltaRock Energy and in the 2011, along with colleagues from Stanford, MIT, Cornell, University of Utah, Southern Methodist University, and the University of Nevada, he co-founded the National Geothermal Academy. 

His research interests include molecular, reservoir, and multiscale modeling applied to energy and biomedical systems.